SIM Local

Tap a star to rate

A carrier retailer with airport presence and app

SIM Local is not a mobile operator but a travel eSIM retailer that stocks plans from multiple providers and sells them through its website and airport stores worldwide. The site has served over four million customers in its fifteen-year history, positioning itself as a checkout for existing carriers rather than an alternative network.

Plan shapes and pricing

The pricing structure separates regional and destination-specific plans into fixed-data bundles and "unlimited" tiers. For Thailand alone, the site lists plans ranging from 3GB at $5.75 for seven days up to 50GB for ten days at $13, with regional multi-country options available at different price points. The "unlimited" plans deserve attention: despite the label, they come with a high-speed data ceiling of 10GB or 5GB daily, after which the connection throttles. A fifteen-day plan with 10GB of daily high-speed data costs $50.25; a seven-day plan with the same daily allowance costs $28.25; and a fifteen-day plan with 5GB daily costs $39.75. The site does not publish a per-gigabyte rate card, so costs vary by destination, validity window, and whether the plan carries voice and SMS alongside data.

Fixed-data plans include options like 20GB for thirty days at $18.50 or 10GB for the same period at $10.50. A 5GB thirty-day plan costs $8, and regional European plans start from as little as $4 per gigabyte depending on the country. These pricing tiers give travelers flexibility: a day trip to Thailand costs $5.75 for 3GB, while a business traveler staying a month could choose 20GB for $18.50. Longer stays with higher data needs push toward the "unlimited" daily-bucket plans: $28.25 for seven days or $50.25 for fifteen days, both at 10GB of daily high-speed data.

The site mentions referral credits of $5 per friend referred, though it does not detail how these apply at checkout or whether they discount the total or credit future purchases. The referral program suggests a loyalty structure aimed at travelers who plan multiple trips or want to share the service with companions.

Language and currency support enhance accessibility. The site displays menus in English, German, Portuguese, French, Dutch, Italian, and Spanish, and supports currency selection (though the specific currencies beyond USD are not visible in the captured pages). This multilingual interface suggests SIM Local caters to European and Latin American markets as heavily as English-speaking ones.

Coverage: carriers named and destinations listed

SIM Local claims to connect travelers to the leading network provider in multiple countries, though the site does not publish an explicit carrier partnership roster. The captured pages refer to "4G and 5G networks as the locals" do, suggesting plans route through primary domestic carriers in each destination rather than secondary roaming partners. Thailand pages list True as one carrier; the broader site menu includes dedicated pages for United Kingdom, United States, Europe, Thailand, Japan, and global plans, which indicates coverage in those regions. Beyond those explicit pages, the site offers a "See All Destinations" link but the full roster is not visible in the captured text.

The site positions itself around the theme that "unlimited should mean freedom, not small print," implicitly criticizing competitors whose "unlimited" plans throttle after 3GB or 5GB. SIM Local's own unlimited plans offer up to 10GB of full-speed data daily, which the marketing compares favorably to throttled competitors' offerings. This positioning suggests the carrier partnerships SIM Local has selected are capable of delivering that speed, though no speed guarantee or SLA is published. The homepage advertises "5G speeds in 200+ destinations," confirming a global footprint; the fact that airport stores are mentioned implies physical presence at travel hubs, though the captured pages do not name specific locations.

Practical details: voice, SMS, app, installation, support

Plans fall into two categories on the site: data-only and plans with calls and texts. Both types are available, though the site does not specify which carrier partnerships include voice and SMS or whether these depend on the destination. Plans with voice and SMS are labeled "eSIM Plans with Calls & Texts" in the site menu, suggesting that not all destinations support outbound calling or SMS; this is a destination-by-destination feature, not a universal option. Installation happens through the SIM Local app (available for download) or manual entry of carrier settings. The site recommends installing the eSIM one day before travel and provides step-by-step instructions. A QR code method is mentioned in passing but not detailed, leaving installation mechanics to be discovered in the app itself.

Refunds are offered without quibble: if the customer changes their mind, they get their money back. This is listed as a headline benefit. The site does not publish a specific refund window or conditions beyond that promise, which is a significant gap for travelers making a purchase hours before departure. Top-ups during a trip are available for most plans; the site mentions a data-usage checker and the ability to add data on the go through the app. The app is described as enabling one-click management of all eSIM plans, though the depth of the app's analytics (per-day breakdowns, per-app data usage, cost projections) is not documented.

Device compatibility is confirmed via a compatibility-checker tool on the site, meaning travelers should verify their phone before purchasing rather than discover incompatibility after checkout. Support is available 24/7 via WhatsApp, a practical choice for travelers in different time zones; the site also maintains a help center for FAQ browsing. The site also runs an affiliate and referral program but does not detail commission structures for resellers or travel agents.

What remains unsettled

The site does not publish detailed coverage maps, network quality metrics, or specific carrier names outside Thailand. A traveler cannot confirm whether a destination plan runs on the country's best network or a secondary roaming partner. The identity of SIM Local's parent company or operator is not disclosed anywhere on the captured pages; "about us" content is referenced in the navigation but the full text is not shown. Speed throttles during the daytime or during peak hours are not mentioned, so no information exists about whether the daily 10GB cap resets at midnight, whether it resets per calendar day or per rolling twenty-four hours, or whether the throttle kicks in at exactly 10GB or slightly before. The site does not state whether the eSIM can be shared across two devices simultaneously or if only one device can be active at a time.

SIM Local works well for travelers who want immediate coverage at a physical airport store and trust a multi-carrier retailer to have chosen the right local network for their destination. It suits people comfortable with a daily data allowance and those who value the no-quibble refund policy. It suits less well anyone who needs to know the exact carrier name before committing, anyone who needs unlimited high-speed data without a cap (the highest plans offer 10GB daily, then throttle), or anyone who wants to know whether family members can share one plan across two devices.

More in Global eSIMs

See all